Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers

These Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers were one of the first food items I pinned on Pinterest, after trying the recipe, and before loving Pinterest. These burgers are another thing you’ll love and want to pin!

Since I made these a while ago, I don’t have process pictures. I’ll try to take some to add when I make them again. I made them for my parents, as I like to get them to try different things. Although my dad is not picky and eats everything, if he’s not crazy about something, he eats it and says it’s ok. My dad went for a second burger and my mom loved them too as she made them on her own after. So these are healthy and delicious veggie burgers anyone would like.

– Melissa

Recipe derived from Kathy Patalsky’s Lunch Box Bunch

Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers Recipe

1 can white kidney beans
1-2 large sweet potato, baked/peeled/mashed (about 2 cups)
2 Tbsp tahini or if you don’t have this, I use sesame oil
2 tsp maple syrup
1/4 cup wheat flour + extra if needed to hold patties together more
optional: seasonings – I use some salt, pepper, and onion salt and you can even use garlic powder
plentiful Panko crumbs – close to one box per recipe
safflower oil for pan (if frying them) – I bake them
burger toppings: avocado, tomato and mayo. A nice lemon garlic mayo would probably be great too + whatever else you like

Directions:

1. Bake sweet potato whole. Peel, and place in large mixing bowl.
2. Add rinsed and drained beans to mixing bowl. Mash beans and potato together. Easiest when potato still warm.
3. Add seasonings and flour. Your mixture will be quite soft and moist. But you should be able to form a patty. Add more flour or a scoop of breadcrumbs to thicken the mixture if needed.
4. Form a patty from mixture and coat in Panko crumbs. Put on parchment paper-lined cookie sheet. Flip once to lightly brown and crisp each side.
5. Serve on toasted bun with toppings.

These are a little bit messy, but worth it!

Leave a comment